N.J. Helmet Law to Take Effect Nov. 1
SAM Magazine-Vernon, N.J., Apr. 12, 2011-Gov. Chris Christie signed the New Jersey helmet law on Apr. 8, requiring all youths under age 18 to wear a helmet while skiing or riding in New Jersey. The law, the first statewide requirement for ski/ride helmets, takes effect Nov. 1.
Enforcement is left up to parents and guardians. The parent or guardian of youths who fail to wear helmets would face a $25 fine for the first violation, and $100 fines for any subsequent offenses.
"This marks a significant change in the industry we know," said Mountain Creek VP of marketing and sales Bill Benneyan. But not an unexpected one. "We're geared up and ready for it," he added. Mountain Creek has been requiring helmets for many employees, provides helmets for its kids programs and terrain park lessons, and has ensured that it has enough rental and retail inventory to meet next season's anticipated demand. And the area's customers are already at or above the national average for helmet use, which is nearly 60 percent.