Ski Hall of Fame Inducts Industry Legends

951 view(s)

Publish Date


SAM Magazine-Ishpeming, Mich., Sept. 26, 2005-Three ski-area legends lead this year's group of inductees for the U.S. National Ski Hall of Fame: David D. R. (Darcy) Brown, long-serving president of Aspen Resorts Corporation in Colorado; Walter Foeger, who developed Vermont's Jay Peak Ski Resort; and Erich Sailer, one of American's top race coaches, from Buck Hill, Minnesota. Three-time Olympian and former world champion Hilary Lindh is the fourth member of the class of 2005.

David (Darcy) Brown had a 22-year reign as president of Aspen. He developed Aspen into one of the world's largest ski complexes under a single management. Brown also played a significant role in the founding of the National Ski Areas Association and served as NSAA's second president in 1965. He lives in Aspen, Colorado.

Walter Foeger started as the ski pro at the newly-opened Jay Peak Resort in late 1956. Within ten years he expanded the Vermont area from one run and no lifts to 45 runs and several lifts, including the fastest cable car in the nation. His "natur teknik" teaching system reached more than 250,000 beginner skiers through a network of 14 ski schools in the U.S. and Canada. Foeger now lives in Vienna, Austria.

Erich Sailer, director of Minnesota's Buck Hill race program, ranks among America's most successful ski coaches. He trains racers year round, with summer sessions at Mt. Hood, Oregon. His most successful protégés include U.S. Ski Team members Kristina Koznick, Sarah Schleper, Lindsey Kildow, and Resi Stiegler. Sailer lives in Apple Valley, Minnesota.

Hilary Lindh represented the U.S. in three Olympics and won the downhill silver medal at the 1992 Games in Albertville, France. A three-time winner on the World Cup tour, she also won the women's downhill at the 1997 World Championships. Lindh resides in Squamish, British Columbia.

Induction ceremonies will take place April 28, 2006 in Ishpeming.