News Search

Push to The Latest: No

SAM Magazine—Lakewood, Colo., June 4, 2020—The National Ski Areas Association (NSAA) presented awards in sustainability, safety, growth and marketing during the association’s virtual awards ceremony June 3. The online fête was NSAA awards 2020 Halley ObrienHalley O'Brienhosted by “The Snow Report Show” and “SnoCountry Snapshot” star Halley O'Brien.

On the environmental front, Bridger Bowl Ski Area, Mont., received the Golden Eagle Award for Environmental Excellence for its multi-faceted approach, encompassing a variety of energy and waste reduction efforts. Other winners included Crystal Mountain, Wash., for Innovation in Sustainability; SilverStar Resort, B.C., for Climate Change Impact; and Matt Robinson of Sun Valley, Idaho, was named this year’s Hero of Sustainability

The Conversion Cup went to Blue Mountain, Pa., for its broad array of programs aimed at beginners. Those include Terrain Based Learning, on-demand lessons, school-based and family programs, follow-up lift and lesson offers, and even vouchers for non-lesson-taking beginners struggling on the area's learning terrain.

Safety awards went to Whitefish Mountain, Mont., for Best Employee Safety Program; Sugarbush, Vt., for Best Guest Safety Program; Snowbasin, Utah, for Best #RideAnotherDay Program; and Safety Champion Cindy Dady of the Olympic Regional Development Authority (ORDA), N.Y. Snowbasin also received the award for best large-area Overall Safety Program; the small-area Overall award went to Gore Mountain, N.Y. (part of the ORDA resort group).

kelly pawlakKelly PawlakNSAA honored several resort marketing efforts. Jay Peak, Vt., earned two awards: Best Overall Campaign (less than 500,000 visits) and Most Unique Campaign. Snowbird, Utah earned Best Overall Campaign (more than 500,000 visits). Mountain Creek, N.J., was cited for Best Social Media Campaign, and Cannon, N.H., received the award for Best Use of Video. Boreal, Calif., took the award for Best Lapsed Skier and Rider Campaign.

Details on all the winning efforts can be found HERE.